Pinterest Project: The Green Monstah.

I’ve started a project to find out if some recipes posted to Pinterest really are that great-or are merely really nice looking photos.  

In the last post I took the softball approach. I knew when I looked at the recipe of Cream Cheese Cookies (which includes butter, sugar, and cream cheese) that they would-without a doubt, be amazing.  After that I decided to take on something I was unsure about.  I’ve dubbed it “The Green Monstah”  (Yes in honor of Fenway because I big read puffy hearts love the Red Sox. Plus, looking at the smoothing-it can be a little intimidating).

I’m a fan of smoothies. They’re an easy grab & go breakfast for me. Despite the fact that I love cooking I rarely make breakfast-my mind is spinning too much on the day ahead, making lists and thinking of what I have to get accomplished. Smoothies are faster.

The Green Monstah-takes the healthy up a notch.

I use Spinach, a banana, frozen fruit and Greek yogurt.

Ingredients

I don’t use ice often because I like it a little thinner, but feel free to add!  I also use Greek yogurt. It’s thicker, less sweet/more tangy. Plus it contains much more protein and sometimes less sugar than traditional yogurt.

Feel free to use whatever fruits you want. The batch I often use is a strawberry/mango/pineapple blend.

 

I use a small handful of fresh fruit (maybe 3/4 of a cup?) and a giant handful of spinach or

Spinach-I usually don't measure though.

two regular sized ones.

Put all ingredients in the blender–and let it go to work! Ok-I’ll admit, sometimes I run into trouble here.  It could be a number of things..the way I stacked ingredients, cheap blender, who knows…but I sometimes have to take a spoon and mash things closer to the blade. (Clearly when the blender is off!) \

Then pour and enjoy.  It’s as simple as that.  I will say I have read about another green smoothie on Pinterest that includes Kale-I haven’t tried it (the grocery store was out.)  I’ve also read “you’ll lose weight!” or “Burn fat!” I kinda doubt that. What I will say is this: It’s yummy. You don’t taste the spinach-it’s just Bright Green.  And it is very filling.

I’m now hooked on them.  Especially because I feel like it helps get even more nutrients into my day.  Consider this a success.

Done!

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Cooking, food, Pinterest, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pinterest Project: The Green Monstah.

  1. Kelli says:

    I like spinach, really I do. But this thing freaks me out. I just might have to try it.

  2. Mplsauna says:

    I’ve just gotten into the green smoothie thing too – and I tried this same recipe from Pinterest – but went with coconut water instead of yogurt. For some reason the cream and spinach idea oogies me out.

    I would recommend it!!

Leave a Reply

