Sooo….this happened (I was on TV)

Most people would describe themselves firmly as Either an Extrovert, OR an Introvert.
I believe I fall squarely between the two. I am uncomfortable in new situations–it takes me time to open up and get used to things. The men in my family are far more social (in fact I’m not sure if my brother has ever met a stranger). On the other hand, once I am settled, I quickly assume a role that’s commanding and confidant.

Not long ago I was asked/pushed to do an on-air cooking segment. I was beyond petrified. I didn’t know how on Earth I would fill the time (the segment would be on slow cooking, how much is there to discuss?!?) I worried my lack of true training would come across, and scrutinized over what to say.

My friends were great about it. Some encouraged, others said I still had time to back out, a few said “Act if you’re talking to me–without the profanity” and one convinced me not to drop out less than 18 hours from show time. And they all dealt with me and my nerves without threatening to harm or drug me.

I haven’t watched–and frankly don’t plan on doing so, but I was encouraged to post.
Here it is, the segment on Drip Beef Sandwiches 

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Beef, food, friends, slow cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sooo….this happened (I was on TV)

  1. Kelli says:

    I watched it live! You seemed perfect natural and normal. I think I’m like you, an audience of one or one hundred, I’m ok, but anything between there I get a little retarded and say stupid stuff (like ‘retarded’).

  2. LaTonya says:

    You’re a natural, and did great. They should give you your own show! I must try that recipe real soon!

Leave a Reply

