Adjustments Needed.

It’s stunning how one decision starts a cascade of changes in life, like dominoes…propelling forward revealing new things, but once that domino falls, it takes some work to get things set back right.  That’s where I find myself these days.  Struggling to keep up with changes that happen one after another–simultaneously enjoying what’s happening yet also fighing for things to steady and return to a more regimented pace.

About six weeks ago I accepted a new job.  It had been a long time coming. I was good at my old job…seasoned and confident.  I greatly miss certain aspects of it, but I couldn’t do it anymore.  I didn’t like the person I was becoming because of it.  It was time to go.

The new role has brought with it a myriad of changes, both on the professional and personal spectrum.  Often, in the true yin and yang that is life; one good change brings with it things that should be altered.

For example: I’m working normal hours. For the first time EVER.  Sleeping when a person is supposed to,  being able to grab lunch with friends, not feeling alienated from the real world…it’s fantastic.  BUT, I have yet to figure out a steady routine.  Food/Cooking sheds light on the biggest problem. It’s gone to the way-side.  That means I’ve picked up to-go order FAR too often (Or eaten utter crap) and this is bad for my body and my wallet. Plus I Miss cooking.  (The only reason this isn’t a bigger issue is the things keeping me from cooking are social, and as cathartic as cooking for me.)  My DVR is filling quickly.  I like feeling too busy, yet being a List person?  The ‘Browse Recordings’ menu feels like a to-do que.  Then to compensate when I find free time I turn into a lazy slug, ignoring all work around the house that needs done.

I know I will find my routine.  I know a big reason for the chaos is that not only is it new, right now is the most stressful time for the new role. In another six weeks things will be calmer.

But…..until that happens I’ll feel rushed.  Don’t get me wrong I’m happy. My life feels full and I’m more at peace and pleased with what is IN it— I just need to rework the line-up.

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in learning, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

