Counting & Colors

I’ve started to believe the whole Resolutions thing should be done in the late spring.
The impending threat of bathing suit season gives much more incentive to keep fitness/healthy goals than sweater weather and frigid conditions where ‘extra warmth’ can somehow be worked into logic.

I’ve started to evaluate my meals, but I’m using a different method that most people I know.

Calorie counting has long been praised.

source

There are countless apps and sites that can help people keep track.  I know many who have had success with this method, myself included.

Sure, it’s tedious, but it really makes you think.  Food journals are great.

But…this method isn’t for me.

I stopped enjoying my food.  Instead I obsessed over nutrition math and how many calories were in something.  I didn’t savor things, and would feel guilty about choices.

That’s not a way to live–at least not for me.

I began to look at What I was eating, and there was quite a bit of brown foods.  Granted, brown foods are Delicious.  They’ve been grilled, roasted, seared, or fried.  Brown food is (mostly) comfort food…meat and potatoes type stuff.  Now, I know what Food Network host Anne Burrell has to say about them, but a plate of brown foods provides no balance.

Love this rainbow fruit plate. Photo by my friend Kat.

So instead of looking at numbers, I focused on colors.  The more color, the more variety and different nutrients.  Plus it’s fun and has a child-like feel to planning.

I feel better when I eat this way.  I still count, but mostly it’s how many fruits/veggies I have in a day.  When I only worried about the numbers on the label, I would eat low-cal or low-fat, but I doubt many meals were all that nutritious.

This image serves as a good reminder for things. Spotted on Pinterest, a site I Love these days.

I know this is close to Michael Pollan’s stance.  I haven’t read his books, but they have been suggested to me many times (and I do plan on reading them eventually.)

If you want to change your eating habits or lifestyle, find what fits You.  A change is a process, but if you hate it–it won’t stick.

I still indulge.  Far too often than I should, but I’m enjoying it.

 

What works for you?
 

 

 

 

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in eating, food, learning, life, serving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Counting & Colors

  1. Kelli says:

    Honestly, it’s a really good way to look at things. I’ve never really counted calories or anything like that, it’s just too much math for food. Also, it’s depressing! I love this time of year when all the yummy pretty colored foods are available and in season!

Leave a Reply

