The Perfect Pair.

I spend a lot of time thinking about flavor.  One thing I often find both exciting, and challenging at the same time is flavor pairings.  Sometimes things just work.

Oddly I'm only a fan of the miniature version.

Certain flavors or foods seem to lend themselves to pairings.  Peanut butter is one that comes to mind.  It’s half of the most basic and beloved PB & J sandwich.  Of course, there’s also a near cult level devotion from those who believe there is no candy superior to that of Reese’s.

Now that it’s (unofficially) summer, I’m enjoying a few fresh/seasonal pairings.

I love basil and tomatoes, whether on pizza or bruschetta.

Can't you practically Smell the goodness?! Yum!

Cilantro and Lime is another that makes me happy.  I love the smells, the brightness, the way those flavors alone can take a dish somewhere warm and sunny.

There of course are plenty of other greats, steak and potatoes, chips and salsa, cheese and…(almost) everything.

But if I had to choose one, my end-all favorite flavor pairing of all time, it’s an easy choice.

My favorite, is Dark Chocolate and Raspberry.

Mylot.com

Delicious!

The bright, tart flavor of the raspberry, paired with the deep rich almost bitter flavor of the chocolate, could there BE any better combo?! (I think not!)

 

An indulgence of mine is the Ghiradelli chocolates that have this pairing.  Quite the treat.

Single Serving Sweets

So what’s your favorite?

Do you have a combination you love?

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Cooking, eating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perfect Pair.

  1. Sweet Love says:

    (It linked to my other twitter account, and I’m too lazy to change it)
    Anyway, I love dark chocolate and raspberry! My favorite cake is just that – chocolate soaked in raspberry layered with a dark chocolate ganache. And it has to be chilled. The ganache tastes like fudge. yum!
    I don’t know if I can think of any others that you didn’t mention. I think orange and chocolate doesn’t quite get the love it deserves, though.
    -Kelli

Leave a Reply

