Slow Cooker Sunday: Super Easy Chicken Salsa

It’s been a while since I’ve done a slow cooker recipes.  The holidays threw me off, then it was tough to get going again.  But, I’m back (by that I mean I did a slow cooker dish this week, next week we’ll see how it goes.)

I had frozen chicken breasts in the freezer, so that served as my starting point.  Once again  I went to crockpot365 for inspiration.  I found her ‘Salsa Chicken’ recipe, and used that as a starting point.  This has to be one of the easiest dishes I’ve made so far.  If that wasn’t enough it’s also delicious and healthy. Plus you may have many of the items already in your fridge/pantry which makes it that much easier.

Ingredients

Chicken breasts (or chicken thighs, whatever you have on hand–I used 3 large chicken breasts, but you could use more and still have enough sauce/salsa)

1 can black beans, rinsed
1 can kidney beans, rinsed
1 heaping cup of frozen corn
1-2 cups of chunky salsa
Sour Cream (I used fat-free, I just wanted the consistency to change)
Rice or Tortillas (optional)

Put chicken in the crock pot (if it’s frozen it’s fine-just toss it in)
Add other ingredients & cook for 6-8 hours.

Once it’s done you have a few options:

  • Serve the breasts (or thighs) whole and spoon salsa on top
  • Shred chicken, serve on top of rice, add salsa
  • Shred chicken, put it and salsa mixture into tortillas

I served mine over Cilantro Lime Rice.  I think the flavors of the rice blended well with the salsa and added a touch of brightness.

Cilantro Lime Rice

2 cups instant rice (everything needs balance, slow cooker/ instant rice)
1.5-2 Tablespoons lime juice (if you happen to have limes, juice of one lime)
1/4 cup finely chopped cilantro
Chicken broth  (just a few tablespoons)
Salt to taste
Cook the  rice as directed.
Fluff with fork before adding other ingredients.
Enjoy!

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Chicken, Cooking, food, recipe, slow cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow Cooker Sunday: Super Easy Chicken Salsa

  1. Babygirl says:

    I’ve never added chicken to my salsa before so this recipe sounds absolutely divine and a wonderful addition to the Superbowl appetizer list. Thanks so much for sharing this.

  2. Debbie says:

    Come join me for Crock Pot Wednesdays whenever you can.

Leave a Reply

