Kindergarten Lessons, In the Kitchen.

In this space I often share recipes, cooking ideas, and experiences.
Some items turn out great, others land me in the kitchen for hours, cursing over bubbling pots and pans.
But a few end up being funny stores of calamity, where things certainly didn’t go as expected but leave me with a lesson and a laugh.

This post is about one of those times.

I made…. GREEN cobbler.
That’s right.  A dessert,  in the shade of what’s typically seen in the most healthy items on our plate.
And believe me that certainly wasn’t the intended outcome.

How did this happen?
My family asked me to make two desserts for Christmas.  A pecan pie, and I suggested a blueberry cobbler.
I often use a recipe based on one from Real Simple. (It’s different in that there’s only crust on top.) It’s messy, but easy and tastes great.
Well at 1:30 (technically Christmas Day) I realized I had left the cream at home, we would just be having pie (which was no big deal, my MeMe made other desserts.)

This past week I decided to finally make it.  And while Green is a traditional Christmas color, I’m not sure it would have gone over well during the feast.
There was one (turns out major) difference in this recent attempt, and all of the ones in the past.
I was using Frozen Blueberries.  Berries filled with water, not the fresh ones I would pick up from the Farmer’s Market.
I didn’t think it would make THAT much of a difference, plus the move saved me a considerable amount of money (fresh berries in December?!?)  But while I was making it I knew…something was amiss.
The berries didn’t look right, the dough also looked odd, but I pressed on.
(That’s my favorite part about cooking things, using all senses.  Judging a texture, or how something looks, listening for a pot…practice brings that familiarity y and confidence.)

When I pulled the cobbler out of the oven I thought it still looked a bit funny, but knew there was only one SURE way to test.

After the first scoop, looks a little funny!

Eating the cobbler it became clear…it was Green.

 

 
When the frozen blueberries bubbled the water threw the balance off, leaving it green–Not a deep purplish blue.

There's the Green...

 

 

 

 

 

And as any kindergartener can tell you: Yellow + Blue = Green.

 

 

 

 

 

……at least it still tasted good.

 

Looked Funny, but Tasted Good!

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, dessert, food, learning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kindergarten Lessons, In the Kitchen.

  1. kelli says:

    That is bizarre! I don’t know if I ever would have predicted that. And sadly, I don’t think my husband would have eaten it. He’s fine with my ‘not so pretty’ creations, but a green dessert? I think he would have passed. Glad it still tasted good!

  2. Hahahahaha That is FUNNY sister!! So glad you shared. I will admit, yes I would have probably tried a bowl myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

