Pass the Peas, Please!

photo courtesy blissfullydomestic.com

My first thought upon waking up this New Year’s Day was “How am I going to cook my Black Eyed Peas?”  After a bit of browsing I finally found a recipe that seemed easy, but good.  As an added bonus the spice helped clear my sinus, but the ‘cook the onion in the bacon fat’ was a knock on the ‘eat healthier’ resolution.

Speaking of,I have mixed feelings about New Year’s Resolutions.  On one hand I like them.  I like lists.  I like setting goals and working for something, the hope they provide.  On the other, part of me can’t help but think they’re a giant setup for a delayed failure, leaving many to dwell during the week between the holidays on things that hadn’t quite been accomplished.
Personally I struggle with making them.  I often feel caught off guard, like when a relative calls the month of your birthday, asking for ideas…you stammer out a few things but then later think “Do I even Want that?!?”

After some thought, I have come up with a few that I believe will push me, make me a better person, and are actually ones I will Want to do.

  • Be active in the lives of my friends and family.  This means staying in touch more, especially with those I don’t see often.  It means planning more outings, making more calls, writing more letters–not just being an observer of their life from a Facebook page, or hearing updates from a third-party.
  • Strive to be healthier. —  This is the biggest, most all-inclusive.  It covers sleeping the right amount, eating healthier, creating a workout routine.  While these are things I do now, they should be polished.
  • Venture out of my comfort zone more often.– This could mean choosing a red dress when I’d usually opt for black, going to an event where I won’t know many people, or just trying something new because I can.  Life is too be lived, and to gain comfort, you’ve got to try it first.

There we go.  I know three is a rather small number to go with, but I figured those were doable, yet large enough that they covered just about everything.
They make me hopeful, optimistic, but just in case I need some extra luck, I’ll have some more black eyed peas.

Spicy Black Eyed Peas

Ingredients

4 Slices of Bacon
1 Onion, Chopped
1 Can Rotel
1 can Black Eyed Peas, washed/dried
1 Teaspoon Salt
1 Teaspoon Chili Powder
1/2 Teaspoon Black Pepper
3 cups water

Directions

In a large saucepan cook the bacon.  Once it’s crisp crumble & set aside.
Saute onions in the bacon fat until tender.
Add all other ingredients and cook for 45 -60 minutes.
(you may need extra water if it’s too hot)
Serve, using crumbled bacon as garnish

 

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

