Slow Cooker…Wednesday: Drip Beef Sandwiches

This Sunday I was out dining with my family.  We try to do that once every month.
So I didn’t put anything in the slow cooker, but I did on Tuesday night/Wednesday morning.

Lately I’ve been craving my Mom’s Drip Beef sandwiches.
I distinctly remember coming home many days after school and walking into a home filled with the smell of this dish going in the crock pot.  (The same crock pot I use today).
I’ve mentioned my mom and cooking quite a bit in this blog.  I should clarify, she wasn’t an excellent cook.  She just didn’t have a great interest in it.  There were a few things she did Very well, her pie, her Coca-Cola Salad, and this recipe were among them.

It’s an incredibly easy recipe, plus it’s one in which almost all items are cabinet/pantry staples.

Drip Beef Sandwiches

3 1/4 Lean Boneless Chuck Roast (or go 3, or 3.5 whatever fits your family)  

1/3 Cup White Vinegar

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1/8 Teaspoon Garlic Powder

1/4 Teaspoon Cloves

1 Onion Cut into Wedges

3 Bay Leaves

Lettuce

Hamburger Buns

Instructions

Trim the Roast of Excess fat and cut into large portions. Place into the crock pot

Stud the onion with Cloves.  (I love doing this.  I like cloves but they can float around and be difficult to pick out.  I do this with any recipe that I can.)

Add the onion and all other ingredients to the crock pot.  Cook on low for 8-12 hours.  Make sandwiches, use sauce for dipping.

This is so easy to throw together.  I put it on Tuesday night, let it cook overnight, then put together lunch.
It smells Amazing!  Enjoy!!

What a Stud! 🙂

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Beef, Cooking, Mom, slow cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooker…Wednesday: Drip Beef Sandwiches

  1. Audreya says:

    Yum! We make something similar to this – but being from Illinois, we have to have “Italian beef”… so rather than the various seasonings you listed, we just throw in a package of Italian dressing mix. Although I might try it this way just so I can stud the onion!!

Leave a Reply

