Slow Cooker Sunday: Brown Foods

I should admit something. I take issue with all brown meals.
I think that they don’t look healthy, or balanced. Often I’m right, (it’s typically rice & chicken, etc)
I view color as nutrition. This especially holds true for Green.
Tonight’s Slow Cooker Sunday meal was tones of brown and beige. It’s tasty, but I couldn’t resist the urge to doctor it up, so I ended up adding carrots and celery.

I found a recipe on AllRecipes that was called “Chicken Delicious”. Frankly if you’re going to be so bold as to use words like ‘Delicious’ in the dish’s name–it better bring the Flavor. Instead, this I’d give 7/10. It’s not terrible, but I wouldn’t dub it ‘Delicious.’
Another reason I chose it? I’ve not yet done chicken in my slow-cooker. I wanted to try, but I’ll admit I sliced two chicken breasts all the way through trying to check if they were done.

(Once again, I’ll post the recipe, then share my changes)

Ingredients

  • 10 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/8 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of celery soup
  • 1/3 cup dry sherry
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Rinse the chicken breasts and pat dry. Season with the lemon juice, salt, pepper, celery salt and paprika to taste. Place in a slow cooker.
  2. In a medium size bowl mix the mushroom and celery soups with the sherry/wine. Pour mixture over the chicken breasts and sprinkle with grated Parmesan cheese.
  3. Cook on LOW setting for 8 to 10 hours, OR on HIGH setting for 4 to 5 hours.

Revisions/Changes

I didn’t use celery salt.
I chose to use just 6 chicken breasts, Not 10. That’s a LOT of Chicken! (I kept the other items the same though)
I added some flour to the pot partially through, to thicken the ‘sauce’.
I added a bit of red pepper flakes, and garlic (very few of my dishes lack garlic)
And as mentioned before I added celery and carrots.

This is served over Rice, although I’m sure it’d be fine served over pasta.
I only had brown rice (which helped the health factor, but made the ‘all brown foods’ factor MUCH worse!)

No pictures on this one, sorry!

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Chicken, Cooking, recipe, slow cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slow Cooker Sunday: Brown Foods

  1. kelli says:

    I can’t think of a single recipe of mine that doesn’t start out with garlic and onion. I can’t help it. And I ‘doctor up’ my recipes all the time. And 10 chicken breasts? How many did they propose this fed?!?

  2. Tes says:

    I’m new to Brown food and Brown recipe. But this recipe looks lovely and I really wanna try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

