A Change in the Lineup

It’s the week of Thanksgiving. THE holiday that centers around food. No gifts, no candy, no bar-hopping shindigs, just friends, family and food.
This week I will make at least 12 pecan pies. I sold them to earn a bit of Christmas cash, and help my friends keep a bit of sanity during these crazy next few days. I’ve done “crazy pie math” (X oz = $.xx) and recreated a baking schedule over and over, but before all of that–tonight, I’m working with Chocolate.

It sounds crazy, but I assure you the reasoning behind it is pure and simple.
A dear friend has a birthday this week, so to ‘celebrate’ I’m making a batch of Chocolate Pots de Creme. Out of all the items I cook, it’s their favorite, and I rarely make them, so things just seemed to fit.

Ok -truth be told I’m a terrible gifter. When I’m buying birthday or Christmas gifts for family I always think of the most extravagant things first. Ones that most often are out of the realm of possibility . When it comes to friends? I’m even worse. I’m not a ‘gift person’ I have friends who find the most thoughtful and adorable trinkets. Some stash these items away for weeks or months. Many times I long to be more like that–but I’m not.
Cooking/Baking has become a fantastic way to celebrate milestones in friends’ lives.
I put my time and love into a handful of ingredients that molds together to make something my friends enjoy. These are people I love, ones I can’t imagine not having in my life. Ones who know what cooking means to me, and “get” that by cooking/baking I’m giving something I hold most dear.

I just let the taste do the talking about how I feel.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in baking, friends, life, sharing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Change in the Lineup

  1. kelli says:

    I’m right there with you. I share food to show people that I care about them. And, most people have become like me- when I want something, I just get it. So there are few ‘great gifts’ that I need! But food? You can always go for something yummy!

Leave a Reply

