Slow Cooker Sundays: Second Time Around

On Sunday, I attempted to keep up with this new series of using my crock pot each Sunday.
The process went fine, but the execution was wrong.  I’d used beef instead of pork.
Several people asked me if any part was salvageable, but the ease, and problem with a slow-cooker is that everything is done together.  You can’t salvage items since it’s all cooked together.

Even as I scooped out the chunks of food to throw away, I knew I’d be making a second attempt at it this very week.
In fact, I headed to the store the very next day.
Overall I was pleased with it.  I made a few modifications along the way, which I’ll detail in the recipe.
It’s filling but not too heavy, and the pineapple adds some brightness.

I did have a question about the meat (yes both times) during preparation.  The recipe calls for browning the chunks of meat Before adding it to the slow cooker.  I’ve never heard of that.
The only rule I’d heard was: If it’s ground, you must Brown. After doing some research here’s what I’ve found out:

Only ground meats Have to be browned before being used in the crock-pot.  The reason is the ground meat could add too much grease to the dish if not cooked first.  Everything else is a matter of preference and time.  On the one hand, it’s easier not to, but on the other it adds another layer of flavor (and if you dredge with flour, that will thicken the sauce.) So honestly, up to you.

Without further ado let’s talk Food!

Pork and Pineapple Curry

I looked at Dozens of recipes before finding this one. Mostly because I didn’t know what I want, and also because I wasn’t sure about some ingredients.

The one I ended up using was from ifood.com

Here’s the list

Ingredients!

  • 3 Tablespoons Plain Flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • 2 pounds Lean pork, Cubed
  • 2 Tablespoons Oil
  • 1 Onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon Curry powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Paprika
  • 1 and 1/4 cups chicken stock
  • sprinkle of red pepper flakes (I used this instead of dried red chilies)
  • 1 Tablespoon Mango Chutney
  • 1 Teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 Can Pineapple Chunks in Syrup
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • Brown Sugar

Here’s how to throw it together!

Mix the Flour and Salt in a Ziploc bag.  Put the pork pieces in and coat the meat.

Heat the oil and brown the meat on all sides, transfer to Crock Pot.

Add Onion to Pan, Saute until soft.

Add other ingredients (except brown sugar!)  bring to a boil, then add to Crock Pot

Cook on low 5-8 (again depending on your crock pot!)
In the mean time taste sauce and add brown sugar to your liking.

Before serving stir and remove Bay leaves.
Serve with Rice

I think the brown rice gives it a boring beige look, but trust me it was Great!

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

