Fall Confession….

I’m not a Pumpkin person.
I don’t hate it, I just struggle wrapping my head around the multifunctionality of the Golden Gourd.

I’ll put it this way: Can you name another food item that adorns tables/mantles/entryways for months of a year?  We don’t lug a watermelon out and use it as a centerpiece in the summer, but every year the pumpkin carries us from the crisp fall all the way to Christmas time.    It sits, whether carved or not, giving homes a festive feel until it is saggy and sad–then it’s discarded.

I haven’t looked into the different types of pumpkins, and I think this is also what’s giving me pause.  I know there is a difference with apples, and peppers, but what about pumpkins? (I know this can be easily solved with a google search, my point here is I’ve never heard the matter discussed. I find that odd.)

Plus, I’ve never been a huge fan of the taste.  THAT I am hoping to change this year.  I think somewhere I’ve put a wall up.  It could be the fact that pumpkin pie looks weird to me (stop trying to look like orangish pseudo cheesecake-you aren’t) or I can’t shake the mental image of cleaning out a pumpkin (it’s pretty gross, gooey, and stringy) but I’ve never craved it.  I wasn’t among the masses who were giddy with anticipation over Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spiced Latte (ESPECIALLY in Late August when it was still in the upper 90s.) Now that I’m more into cooking, I hope to slowly integrate the flavor into items.  If I truly then don’t like it, then I’ll know, once and for all.

But, I appreciate the pumpkin for its versatility.  It can be broiled, baked, steamed, or roasted.  You can eat the seeds.  It can be in savory dishes and desserts.

Or…you can simply set it on your porch.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Cooking, food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall Confession….

  1. erniebufflo says:

    I’m no pumpkin spice latte fan, as I find them sickeningly sweet and prefer my coffee to taste like coffee, but I love pumpkin. I need to do a roundup post about all the pumpkin recipes I’ve tried so far this fall. There may be zero pumpkins on my porch or mantle, but if you peek in my pantry, you’ll find I hoard canned pumpkin like a crazy person, because last year there was a pumpkin shortage, and by golly, I’m not going to do without ever again! So far I’ve made sweet pumpkin muffins, subtle braided pumpkin bread, and penne pasta in a pumpkin cream sauce. Pumpkin also goes great with curry, so it’s delicious in a curried soup. And basically anything you’d do with a butternut squash, you can do with a pumpkin.

    So, this is an epic comment, but, I love pumpkin!

  2. erniebufflo says:

    Oh, and I made brownies swirled with pumpkin as well. I have a sickness.

  3. Jillian Johnson says:

    I actually just started liking pumpkin pie within the past few years. IMHO, pumpkin is one of those things that tastes better as an adult, if that makes any sense! LOL…. I think another thing that changed pumpkin pie for me was finally having one that was spiced well.

    Have you tried a pumpkin BREAD? Tastes amazing, with none of that freaky faux cheescake buisness. I have the most DELISH recipe, although it might be so incredibly easy that it’s insulting, LOL. It’s actually one of my fave recipes, bc its a great basic bread, just add your veggie/fruit.. I use it for zuchini bread, bannana, pumpkin… mmmmmmm….:)

Leave a Reply

