Slow Cooker Sundays

I’ve decided to create a new weekly tradition.  Slow Cooker Sundays.
Most of my life, Sunday evenings have been spent picking up something, or having a hodgepodge meal.

I decided to change things up.  Especially after considering the benefits: (I’d have a warm meal Sunday and lunch(es) from leftovers, plus it’s easy)

My Trusty Crock Pot

That’s my Crock-Pot.  It’s older than I am.  I can remember coming home on many crisp fall days, walking in the house and breathing in the wonderful smells that had taken over our kitchen-smells which were a preview to the dinners to come.

In my mind, the Slow Cooker is the kitchen’s version of a magician’s hat.  Things go in, and (after 4-8 hours) Ta-Da!!! Tasty meal!!!   I’ve made a cake in my slow cooker, sides, the options are truly endless.  The biggest caveat?  Planning ahead.  This is why I’m dedicating Sundays to it.  That way I know it’s coming, I won’t decide on a dish long after the window to plug it in has passed me by.

Not long ago I stumbled upon Crockpot365.  It’s a great blog where the author (you guessed it) vowed to use her slow cooker every day for one year.  Her recipes are easy to follow, and gluten-free. She also seems to regularly interact with readers, which is nice.

I remembered today that there was a recipe for a Crock Pot version of Mongolian Beef.  This, is my go-to staple at P.F. Chang’s.  I Love it.  So, I decided that’d be my first recipe in the new tradition.
(Full disclosure: I’ve used her blog site as a guide before when I made Chicken Lettuce Wraps in my Slow Cooker)

I stuck to the recipe. It does use quite a few ingredients, but most are a dash of this, a dollop of that.

My ingredients

I found that the gluten-free was easier for me, since I didn’t have Hoisin sauce in my pantry.  However if you’d like the blog links to it.

The recipe is here (and below)

1 1/2 pounds flank steak
–3 cloves of garlic, minced
–4 sliced green onions–one is for garnish
–1 t dried minced onion (or 1/2 fresh onion, diced very small)
–1/2 cup gluten-free soy sauce (or any, if you don’t worry about gluten)
–1/4 cup white wine
–1/4 cup cooking sherry
–1/2 T white wine vinegar (optional–I forgot to add it!)
–1 t sesame oil
–1 t molasses
–1 t ginger
–1/4 t black pepper
–1 t red chili pepper flakes
–1/2 T peanut butter (if allergic, use black bean paste)
–3 T brown sugar
–1/4 cup cornstarch (to dredge meat–don’t add to sauce mixture)
The Directions.
–slice your meat in thin strips and toss in a Ziploc bag with cornstarch.
–add all of the liquid and dried spices to your crock pot, and the peanut butter, and mix well. Add the garlic and three of the sliced green onions. If you are using fresh onion, add that now, too.
–put your meat on top, and toss gingerly to coat.
Cover and cook on low for 4-6 hours.
Keep in mind, crock-pots are like ovens, some run hot.  It’s best to know how yours works, that way you know when to check it.
The sauce of this recipe was pretty thick, but good.
I served mine with rice, and later added broccoli.
Another benefit to cooking in, as I mentioned before, I love this dish.  But at a restaurant (even the cheaper version) the dish would cost $12-$18
I made this recipe for less than that (keep in mind, some items like the spices I had on hand) and this serves 4-6.
Tasty, little mess, and low-cost!

The Finished Mongolian Beef!

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Beef, Cooking, recipe, slow cooker. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooker Sundays

  1. Kelli says:

    Looks yum! I do love the crock pot. I tend to pull it out this time of year, you know, now that the heatwave is over.

Leave a Reply

