Finding My Voice

I’m still learning my way around the blogosphere.

To be honest, I struggle with it.  More than I expected to when I started.

In my daily job, I write All. Day. Long.  The style is completely different.  Bone dry.  No embellishments.  And I never, EVER write about myself.  Besides emails or quotes the word “I” isn’t used.  Then I start a blog.  I started it to detail my mis-adventures in cooking.  To show to friends and family it may not be their ‘fun’ but it doesn’t have to overwhelm them.

And I worried. I’m not used to writing about myself, other than simple emails.  I can write about a subject, or friend…but Me? My life?  This could take adjusting.
I worried I sounded like a know-it-all who didn’t know a thing.  I didn’t want to sound bossy, or full of myself.  That I’d sound all over the place, never make a point and meander through thoughts. More than anything else I’ve fought with thoughts of ‘Does anyone REALLY care what I cook or my thoughts on it At All?!?  Or is this a side-effect of being the generation where every kid was told they’re awesome?”

I brought it up to a friend.  A blogger who once held a position very similar to mine, who would understand my plight, and be able to give advice on finding my path.

So what did she say?  “Give it time.”  I nodded, while thinking “Really?!?  I get to ramble on potentially like a vapid buffoon while waiting for things to work out??”

Seemingly:  Yes.

She said I’d find my way, trend would show up, it just comes with practice. In my mind I cussed, knowing she was likely right (who was I to know?)  while wishing to pick out a style like tomorrow’s dinner plan.

And even still in my unsuredness, I have joined another writing project.  A group music blog.  Which I am very excited about.

With all of this said, I just ask that you be patient.  I ramble.  I forget the story I started with, my grammar here is deplorable, (frankly I don’t care, I write how I think it and don’t put a second thought to a comma), and I get stuck on things.  Be patient with me.  This whole pot of words will boil and simmer over time….just gotta wait it out I guess.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finding My Voice

  1. erniebufflo says:

    You’ll find it. Or them. I say “them” instead of “it” because I have a blog scattered from food to marriage to my thoughts on politics…I could probably have several blogs, but, instead, I have one, probably pissing off folks who wish I’d just stick to food and stop talking about politics, but oh well, my site is me.

  2. Neil says:

    Wow, you should realize that some of the most popular blogs on the blogosphere are from those writing about food. BlogHer now has a separate conference just for food writers. As for personal voice, that is what readers want from a blogger, especially in a time when so many have started blogs for other reasons — commerce, social media, etc. I am a guy with little interest in crafts or Martha Stewart, but some of my favorite blogging friends write mostly about KNITTING, because they make it interesting through their personal voice. If you can write passionately about rocks, someone will want to read about it.

  3. Savannah B says:

    You, my dear, are no vapid baboon. Oh, wait, you said buffoon. Either way, you’re not that.

    I think every relatively new (and some old pro) blogger goes through the “what the hell do I have to say anyway?” phase.

    But you still say it. You say it because it is important to you. You say it because you love it. You say it because it infuriates you. And then, some folks read it. And they relate. Or they don’t.

    In any case, this is a place for YOU. So make it yours. Because you are wonderful, beautiful, funny and smart.

    And definitely not a baboon.

Leave a Reply

