Eating for My Mind & Mouth…or Stomach

I think about food a lot.
What I would like to make, what I need to pick up from the store, what I wish I knew how to do, pairings, the list goes on and on….

During this process I cannot tell you how many times I think “ooh that would be so good” or “I really want _____”  (Ok this doesn’t even have to be when I’m THINKING about food. Today? “Cold Stone Creamery sounds Awesome!”)

Then tonight a thought occurred to me.  Most of the evening I’d been craving something, but purposely avoiding it because it’s not exactly healthy, and I’d had dinner already.  After a while I relalized  I wasn’t actually hungry.  I was craving the smell and taste of it, I would no doubt enjoy eating it, but I wasnt hungry. So why eat?

I know.  This seems like such a simple and obvious idea, but as a grazer, this can be a challenge for me.

So that’s a new goal.  Ask myself ‘Am I actually hungry?  (and to give myself a more solid question–) “Am I hungry enough that I would eat an apple (or something to its equivalent)”
Basically–am I wanting to eat for my mind & mouth, or my stomach?

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating for My Mind & Mouth…or Stomach

  1. Kelli says:

    I do this a lot. And, in your words, my mind is often the hungriest. Not sure what that means, but I indulge it sometimes.

  2. Jessica Smith says:

    I do this a lot myself. I read Naturally Thin (or something like that) and it said to do that.

Leave a Reply

