Lists and Numbers

Lately I’ve come to realize just how much of my life circles around lists and numbers.
There are times it makes me feel tied to these things, as if my life is too structured, but often I find them comforting.

LISTS

It seems I constantly have a number of lists going.
I have at least 6 list apps on my phone.  I’ve gotten into the habit of making a list of the next day’s tasks before going to bed (before you consider it crazy know this: it helps me put my mind at rest and stop dwelling on the day.)

The largest portion of my current job is a big list.  I pick what goes in, where it lies, make sure it gets done, then  make a new one the next day.

Grocery lists, things I need, things I want to make. Emails to return, somewhere things are on a list.

I am a planner.  I am task oriented.  This is what I do.

NUMBERS

Then there are numbers.  Their essence alone lends them perfectly to lists, yet they are strewn haphazardly throughut my life in random significant ways.

Again at my current job, numbers are vital.  In many forms.
Time is another obvious way.

Of course there’s cooking, how much to serve, conversions of cups to ounces etc, and doubling or halving recipes.

There’s bills and money, and times, and dates.

Numbers are the challenging ones.   Calories, pounds, time constraints, money, it can be completely maddening at times. Lists: I make;  Numbers: I have to deal with.

So I’ve decide to combine the two, in a good way.  One that I hope will both challenge and motivate me.

I recently celebrated a birthday, meaning I have a couple of years or so until I hit 30.

I’m going to make a list of things I want to do, and experience before that time.  Most of the things I likely won’t detail on the blog.  I find inner pacts like this to be deeply personal, and I think it can be difficult if not impossible to adequately convey what spurred a decision.  I also don’t want the feeling of responsibility to anyone else, or as if someone is checking up on my status.  It’s mine.

Ironically?  I’m having a difficult time making it.

I want to find things that will push me, yet ones that aren’t completely unattainable.

Which means lately I’m asking myself many questions: “What do you want to do?”  “What would you most like to accomplish, and how do you get there?”  “What are you afraid to try?”

Hopefully I’ll have a rough draft soon.  I’m open to suggestions.

Wish Me Luck.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lists and Numbers

  1. Oh good luck! I hope you’ll tell us on the other side!

  2. LaTonya says:

    Before I turned 40, I made a list of things I wanted to do that year to celebrate being 40. Eventually, I had way more than 40 things on my list. I eventually became overwhelmed by the list, seeing all the things that I didn’t get to because I ran out of time.

    I like making list, but more than often I put too much on my plate.

    I too am in Arkansas!

Leave a Reply

