So….I Made a Pizza

Everyone has a food guilty pleasure.  The thing they crave.  What they could eat just about any time.
Some want burgers. Others crave comfort food.  My best friend goes for chips & salsa.

But for me?  It’s Pizza.
“Pizza is a lot like sex. When it’s good, it’s really good. When it’s bad, it’s still pretty good.”

My love for it is probably why I never before attempted to make it.   Fear of failure.
And I’m also a traditionalist.  I like the cheesy and greasy type with all sorts of toppings.

Since you crawl before you walk—I opted to try a simpler (but still delicious) option

I tried Margherita Pizza.
SO good!  Plus you can throw it together quickly with just a few ingredients.

Confession:  I used Pillsbury’s roll out pizza dough.  (One day I’ll try to make the real thing).  It pops like a can of biscuits (which always makes me jump) and if you use this method be ready to lay it Immediately on your greased cookie sheet.  During my first attempt I tried to move it around too much and had a big stubborn doughy mess.)

Pizza Margherita
(Recipe is for 1 pizza)

My First Margherita Pizza!

Ingredients

  • Pizza dough
  • 2 Tomatoes sliced thin
  • Mozzarella Cheese (1- 1.5 cups)
  • Fresh basil (sliced thin)
  • Salt/Pepper/Olive Oil

Instructions

  • Pre-heat oven to 475 degrees
  • Place dough on baking sheets (if you use pre-made follow those guidelines/this effects whether sheets should have cooking spray or not)
  • Layer tomatoes on dough then lightly drizzle with olive oil and season with salt & pepper
  • Bake for 10 minutes
  • Sprinkle cheese & basil
  • Bake another 5-7 minutes

Enjoy!


About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in eating, food, recipe, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So….I Made a Pizza

  1. erniebufflo says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed making your first pizza! It’s one of my go-to meals, for sure. And you can SO make your own dough! I mix mine up in the morning before work and leave it in the oven with the light on to rise all day while I’m gone.

    Here’s my dough recipe, which is about 1 baking sheet worth of pizza:
    2 cups flour
    Large pinch salt
    1/4 cup olive oil
    1 packet yeast
    2/3 cup warm water

    1. Pour flour, salt, and oil in large bowl
    2. Mix yeast into warm water, stirring until combined
    3. Pour liquid into dry ingredients and knead together. For this I use the dough hook on my stand mixer, but you can knead it with your hands.
    4. Grease a bowl, put the ball of dough in it, and cover with a cloth or plastic wrap. Let rise at least an hour, longer is better.
    5. When you’re ready for pizza, stretch and pat onto the pan, bake your pizza basically as hot as your oven gets, for 15-25 minutes, until things look bubbly, melty, and yummy.

  2. Tes says:

    I love pizza, too. Yummy guilty pleasure. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. Yay for you! We love to make pizza – and maybe I’ll try this kind next – I got my first garden tomato yesterday!

Leave a Reply

