Clicking Through Classes

I’ve been considering some kind of cooking classes for a while now.  A good handful of people have encouraged me to leave my current career path and tie on an apron for good. I’m not convinced I want to go that far just yet (Cooking to please myself or friends is FAR less demanding than hungry strangers) but I do want to boost my knowledge.

I’ve run into a few bumps on this road of thought.  Money….and Time. 

Then an opportunity presented itself.

Top Chef has unveiled an online “school” —Top Chef University
It’s online….there IS a fee, but compared to a full school it’s far less, and since it’s online it works as almost an encyclopedia of information.

I’m not fully onboard (hence, why it’s a blog topic).  It’s not a hands-on class (obviously) and I’m skeptical that it’s just a huge promo series for Top Chef.  

There is the argument that how-to videos are likely online for free, but I’m a gal who likes structure (even if I try to push those boundaries).

Just don’t know. 
Feel free to weigh in, no matter how well you know me. 
Your genuine thoughts are appreciated.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in class, food, learning. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clicking Through Classes

  1. Renee says:

    Ok I’ve looked at the site now and feel like i can add input. 🙂
    Overall it looks like a good opportunity. no, it’s not hands on like you or I would like, but at the same time the hands on classes are not going to fit your schedule like this will. The demo seemed nice, and while it may be a huge promo for Top Chef, but at the same time, you know they are experienced at what they are doing.

    Of course if you could go to a hands on class that didn’t interrupt your schedule and the price was right you would do it. With this you get convenience of doing it on your schedule and yet still learning from experienced people.

    I say go for it!

    (this decision may or may not be influenced by the opportunity to eat leftovers)

Leave a Reply

