Find Your LBD Equivalent

      Cooking can take a lot of time and energy.  You’ve got to prepare, make (and check) your grocery list and pantry (I’ve been victim too often of  thinking I had something, and didn’t–or buying something I already had at home) and time to prepare.  It’s not easy.  I often have what I call ‘European style’ dinners because I so often eat in the 8 pm hour.  And the larger the family? The bigger the chore. 

       I’m not going to tell you ‘Oh have home cooked meals every night!” that is pure crazy talk.  But what I will say is if you don’t feel like driving through the nearest fast food joint or dragging out the take-out menus, then it’s best to know your LBD.

         Ladies know the force a great Little Black Dress can have.  It’s elegant and easy at once.  Comforting yet there’s something special.  It’s quite a powerful piece of fabric I tell you what. Find the dishes you can make with minimal effort that will satisfy.  Nobody needs to know if you used ‘cheats’ in the recipe or if it took you 15 minutes (the equivalent of soaking in a compliment on an LBD and saying “What, this old thing?!?”)

Mine are:

  • Roasted Salmon w/Potatoes & Mushrooms
  • Creamy Shrimp w/Corn & Bacon
  • Smoked Turkey Sandwich with Paprika and Spinach
  • Chocolate Pots

All are easy….some of my most loved recipes that require a low number of ingredients, but never let me down.
Don’t worry about it being fancy…let me explain:

     When my brother was little (maybe 5-8 years old I’m not sure) my MeMe overheard he and a group of friends talking about food.  One boy said “My grandma makes the best roast!” another piped up “Mine has great macaroni” then three or four more shared their favorites…MeMe waited anxiously to hear what my brother had to say. 
Finally:  “My MeMe makes the best toast.”  In her words? ‘Honey I liked to have DIED when he said that! But, I guess if others like it you really can’t complain…”

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Comfort, MeMe, recipe, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

