Food for Thought-A Tribute to LRTweetup

For me, LRTweetup has provided me with the ability  to begin to live a life I knew I wanted, but didn’t have or actively seek before. Not long ago I worked, I slept, I had weekends. Not much else…I wasn’t busy, and my life wasn’t full.  Don’t get me wrong, I was happy. I yearned for more, I wanted to be involved, I wanted friends I didn’t know from college or work, I wanted to Do things….I just didn’t know where to begin.

Like most people, I went to a Tweetup on a whim. I’d been invited and thought that at least I could meet people, have a few drinks, network, and see what it was all about.  And I …..was overwhelmed, but intrigued at the same time.  What struck me the most, particularly at the December Garvan Gardens Tweetup, is that everyone was so welcoming. I was there, I was a part.  It’s a very diverse group with ages, beliefs, jobs etc and yet the people embrace the differences along with the opportunity to learn, and grow.

LR Tweetup has affected my life in three major ways. 

It has brought into my life amazing people.  Many are those I am often a voyeur of their conversation feeds, and hope to one day know them better, others I already feel a deep bond like we have known each other ages.  They’re diverse, and Fun!

It’s kept me busy.  This goes beyond the regular Tweetup events….from what began as a random musing, I now head up a book club.  I’m not sure I’d even join one six months ago, much less head things up. I stay in tune with events and go to more things because I know I’ll see someone I know. And in my world, a friendly face goes a long way. The group ‘let’s do this!’ is encouraging and intoxicating.  And I’m delighted to be part of it.

Most importantly, LRTweetupers have developed into a support system for a growing passion of mine: Cooking.
Over the past few months it’s grown from a daily task, to a hobby, to a blog, and overall a huge part of who I am.  While I enjoyed it before, feedback and encouragement from LRTweetupers has been a huge encouragement.  especially because most haven’t tasted my food–they blindly support-asking about things, commenting, urging me to follow this path even thought I don’t know where it leads.  And on occasion, they ask for leftovers. 

It’s a fantastic group, I’m proud to be a part of.  Always welcome at my table.   Cheers.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Comfort, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food for Thought-A Tribute to LRTweetup

  1. I have enjoyed your Key Lime pie and your company both very much! So glad to call you my friend.

  2. Sarabeth says:

    Becca – thank you so much for
    sharing this – I realize I didn’t really know any if your story. I’m so glad you jumped
    in and SO glad you started the book club. I love the tweetups, but I ADORE tweadup..,

Leave a Reply

