Gettin’ Saucy

I’m a heavy saucer.  People have their preferences….I prefer lots.  Or at least a generous portion.  Nothing unnerves me more than realizing the end of my delicious meal…will not taste the same because I don’t have enough sauce. 

Recently I decided to try to make my own.  There’s a recipe I WANT to try (this one, from BravoTV’s Chef Academy) but I haven’t summoned the courage for that one.  I debated whether I wanted to try my hand at making a sauce.  It takes time, and ingredients can cost more than an average bottle of sauce–is it even worth it?

In the end I decided trying gave me the experience, and ability to decide whether it was worth it.

I should say though, the initial attempt wasn’t easy.
I have a love/hate relationship with blenders.  This is an ongoing thing.  I have killed many.  Or some have baffled me, working perfectly for other people, and terrible for me. Most of the time they work fine, but I always feel a sense of trepidation before pressing a button.

I’d recently purchased a new blender. It had a food processor attachment, and I thought ‘This will be PERFECT!” I put all my ingredients into the processor attachment…and realize about 90% of the way in … I’m not going to have enough space.  So I scoop and pour into the blender itself. Things are going ok until I look down and realize sauce has begun to ooze out of the bottom.  The attachment wasn’t on securely enough. 
If I picked it up–it would all fall.  If I continued, I could make a last-ditch effort to move things into the pot at once.

I chose the later, which didn’t turn out too badly, (even though I had to wipe down counters, wash the entire blender, and got splattered with marinara).

I will say this.  Homemade sauce is divine.  It CAN be pricy.  So if you don’t want to, doctor your pre-packaged with herbs.  I paired it with a plain gnocchi and it was great. 

A little messy … but great. 
(I’ve made it since, and managed to avoid the blender mishap)

 Recipe & Notes

Here is the Recipe I used

 I used more onion
Standard equation of fresh to dried herbs:  1/3 of fresh herb amount=dried amount (although I lean more towards 1/2)
The wine is optional. I forgot it early, added it later. Tasted fine before and better after.

For cleaning: Use lime or lemon juice on stubborn stains

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in pasta, recipe, sauce. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

