The Practice Pie…and the Presentation

While I’m fairly confident in the kitchen, I respect the old adage “Practice Makes Perfect.”   If I’m going to make something for an event, or someone, I often do a run-through sometime in the week leading up to the event.

I’m making pies for Easter.  A few for my family, and a few for friends.  It’s an easy recipe (actually, it’s a modified version of what Maddie’s place uses and shared on Today’s THV This Morning) but regardless of simplicity, I wanted to make sure I felt confident.  I’d only made the pie once before I started taking requests–didn’t want to have some I Love Lucy type scenario.

Another thing I wanted to make sure I was confident in doing, decorating.  Good food is good food, but if it LOOKS appealing you boost it’s impact that much more.  So I decided to try to figure out how to evenly space slices. (Yes, I am this visual)

The Practice Pie was taken to work (if it stays here, I’ll eat it. I’d rather share, get honest reviews, make people happy and avoid the temptation).

I ended up not needing to worry about slices (people will make their own anyways) and here is the finished product.
It’s not perfect, but it’s mine.  And I’m pretty pleased with it.  Hope those receiving them are just as happy.

Ta-Da!

What You’ll Need

  • Bowl
  • Spatulas
  • Grater/Mincer
  • Cookie Sheet

Ingredients

  • 2 Cans Condensed Sweetened Milk
  • 1/2 Cup Sour Cream
  • 3/4 Cup Lime Juice
  • 1/2 Teaspoon to 1 Tablespoon Lime Zest
  • Graham Cracker Crust (sure people make their own, but I’ve found one that is Tasty and pre-done, so I use that)
  • Whipped Cream, Lime for Decoration

Recipe

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Combine all ingredients in bowl (I use a spatula, a spoon may make it splash)
  • Place pie crust on sheet, THEN pour in the pie mix
  • Bake for 8-12 minutes.  Then chill.
  • Put your Razzle-Dazzle Decoration on after pie is set.
  • Enjoy!

 

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in baking, dessert, food, pie, presentation, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

