Lessons on Leftovers

Whether you love or loathe leftovers, everybody deals with them from time to time.

These days I deal with them often. I don’t want to take the time to have or quarter a recipe, then worry about cooking time etc…. I’d rather make the full thing, and save or give away the rest.

But let’s face it….leftovers can be tricky.
Food is meant to be enjoyed when it comes out of the oven or off the stove.
Microwaving is cooking again and sometimes this can lead to Disastrous results.

I think I’ve come up with a system. It isn’t foolproof, and it’s likely not the easiest way, but it’s my way and it’s worked well so far.

1) Number of pots you have=Number of Storage Containers you need.
This seems simple, but if you know you’re going to put something on top of rice, don’t store it stacked…separate & plate later.

2) Take smaller portions in separate containers to work, heat them up separately, THEN plate them. Things need to cook differently. If your chicken or pasta needs more time than your veggies, what are you gonna do? Overcook one, or Under cook. Keeping them apart means you don’t have to worry.

It’s tedious. It’s space consuming. But, in my opinion, it gets much better results.

I have nothing to back this up, but I think food holds up better and tastes better.
And those who’ve shared my leftovers tend to agree.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in food, leftovers, serving, sharing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons on Leftovers

  1. Christina says:

    I agree. I cook for the week on Sundays. That means lots of little containers for all the different items. I reheat seperately and put together afterwards. Works best! =)

Leave a Reply

