THE Pie

There is one recipe I have made longer than all the others. And, though I remain unsure in my decision, I’m going to share it.

It’s my Pecan Pie.
My mother made this pie. Staple at every Thanksgiving.
Before I went to college she wrote it down (along with others) the recipe is now worn, it has butter stains, and I’ve almost lost it a few times, but it now hangs on my fridge.
My mother is gone, but (I make sure) the pie is still there.

I’ll be honest, this is the trickiest item I (regularly) make. Sometimes it turns out great, others, it LOOKS great, but inside is a ooey gooey sticky mess of defeat.
I use only full fat. AND you’ve gotta watch it closely.

Ingredients
1/2 cup (1 Stick) of butter
3/4 up light corn syrup
1/4 cup honey
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 Teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped pecans
9 inch pie shell

Preheat oven to 425 degrees
Over low to medium heat, cook butter in a saucepan until golden (5-8 minutes) DO NOT STIR. DO NOT Let it Burn! Set aside

In processor (I use a blender, works Great!) blend corn syrup, honey, sugar, eggs, vanilla & salt
Add butter & blend again

Add pecans and process for a few quick pulses & Pour into Shell

Bake at 425 for 10 minutes
Lower Heat to 325 and cook for 40 minutes* It will seem liquid but let it sit

** Ok…based on your oven that 40 may not be right, but after 40 start watching. Mine these days is closer to an hour, and my temp is between 325-350. Just watch it. You don’t want it shaking, you don’t want it solid on top.

Enjoy.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in family, pie, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE Pie

  1. Kerri says:

    I'm gonna give this a shot soon. One more try at pecan pie. It either works or I'm done for good.

  2. Anonymous says:

    If I wasn't snowed in, I would be over there eating that entire pie! Holy peacan pie batman, that's beautiful!

Leave a Reply

