Servin’ It Up

Before tonight, I don’t recall a time when I cooked a full meal FOR someone. I’ve shared leftovers, brought items to potlucks or cookouts, but not a full meal.

Who better to be a test subject than my best friend, Laura? She’s been blindly supportive of my adventures into the culinary world, so it was time to see if I actually had skill—or merely ambition.

I served one of my Go-To Dishes.
I think every house needs them. The food version of a little black dress. Something impressive, that delivers every time. And livin’ hell wouldn’t you know–I forgot a key ingredient.

So our ‘Creamy Shrimp with Corn and Bacon’ (yes the Real Simple recipe, I get many from there, which will be detailed in an upcoming post) was sans bacon. We also had Green Beans with browned butter & garlic and for dessert the Chocolate Pots. (featured in a previous article)
*Side note: Which the creamy shrimp is fine without the bacon, I prefer having it. It adds depth and a smokiness to the dish*

Overall, I think it was a success.
On an introspective level, while I was involved in conversation, Laura said I am very focused. I don’t feel anxious or tense, but would say I feel very in tune with the process.
I enjoy the process. I want people to love the result as much as I love the process.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Cooking, eating, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Servin’ It Up

  1. asudz says:

    Your dinner was fantastic! Thank you for cooking for me!

  2. Anonymous says:

    BTW, you can always cook me a full meal. But since mine is a little more restrictive.. it would have to be meat… I beat you could make a really good rosemary chicken and something green. But no creams, sauses or salt. So, you might have to get creative there…=0) Maybe stuffed rosemary chicken (stuffed with sauted spinach)… OH YUM!

Leave a Reply

