Two Kinds of Cooks

I believe there are basically 2 kinds of cooks in the world.
Those who go by measurements and work their way step by step through a recipe….and those who do not.

I, am in the first group. For many reasons actually. I think the most obvious one is fear.
Of spoiling a potentially lovely meal, of not knowing my palette, and just to make sure things go smoothly. Once I’ve tried it, I’ll change things. I DO taste as I go along and make adjustments though. I just can’t (at this point) not have a recipe or guide to use.
Training Wheels.

And….I baked first.
Baking is fussy. MUCH more regimented. With cooking you can actually use ‘Dash, dollop, splash’ Baking? Some recipes may call for those–but good luck to ya on recreating them!

I hope to one day be squarely in the middle. To know what roughly equates to a Tablespoon, but not need to grab them from the drawer.

There’s a clip from the movie Julie& Julia in while Juila Child & Co are discussing writing the cookbook. Simmone Beck says measurements aren’t important and they don’t need them–Julia Child says ‘Oh but you do! You most certainly do!’ —I have no idea if this conversation was had in reality, but it makes me feel better about my dependence on measuring cups and spoons.

About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

