List of Ingredients

Cooking isn’t exactly a ‘new’ thing for me. However….it’s not a hobbie I’ve consistantly had either. It ebbs and flows back and forth….don’t know what spurs it, not quite sure why it leaves (stress maybe?) but this time it seems pretty stuck. 

Started ‘cooking’ as a toddler. I’d pull out all these oversized wooden picnic type dishes, and tell grown-ups they could have ‘Blueberry, Strawberry, or a White bowl of soup (Pronounced ‘Pfwhite’) I baked some….in the summers my brother and I were responsible for cooking one dinner a night each week, no repeats. I dabbled again in college. My best friend remembers the smell of my pecan pie. (God love her it’d probably kill her–she’s allergic to nuts) It’s still the toughest thing I make. After college I’d tell you I ‘Cooked’. I used a foreman grill a lot….I made dinner from items in the kitchen…and then I stopped. 

Now….nearly 5 years later I’ve picked it up again. I’m still as particular as I was when I was a toddler….(no special orders!) There’s one other thing I always have. Music.
I ALWAYS have the classics playing. Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, (newer artists get thrown in as well…) The combination of slicing, dincing, and music that even when sad sounds so care free can lift any stress. 

As the link says….I’m not a clean cook. At all.
Once when I was icing red velvet cupcakes my then roomate came around the corner, burst out laughing, and exclaimed I looked like I’d been mauled (I was covered in red velvet batter) I try to clean up as I go….but my counters and floor are always a mess. 

And on a final note…if I couldn’t share my cooking, I likely wouldn’t do it.
Food is meant to be shared. It’s for happy times, and sad times. It brings people together. Food is love. It’s no fun to slave over a meal….and enjoy it by yourself.
About Bec

I'm a gal who believes "Food is the Most Primitive form of Comfort" Have plenty of dishes to serve up, but one thing's for sure, I'm always
This entry was posted in Cooking, family, friends, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to List of Ingredients

  1. Looking forward to seeing the messes you cook up!

Leave a Reply

